My Hacktoberfest Experience

My Hacktoberfest Experience

Sharing my hacktoberfest journey...

To start with I was actually anxious about Hacktoberfest because I started late into week 2 of october. Searching through repos after repos to find good first issues or issues that I as a beginner could solve. πŸ€“

There was lot of skimming thru repos to finally find some issues that I could solve. My first issue was to work on improving the footer of one's portfolio website. Guess what this is how it is now after contribution.πŸ‘‡

195527828-78c4f9b8-335c-4454-abec-92ae79d313f9.png

After this first PR I had to go thru learning and practising the basics of GitHub collaboration and how Open Source contribution actually works.πŸ˜ƒ

Then my next 3 PRs were contributed to Healthy-Developerβš•οΈ As a beginner it was difficult to contribute to big projects like nHost GraphQL, So I decided why not start a beginner friendly Open Source Project that will help me and others looking for the same?πŸ€”

Screenshot 2022-10-24 at 6.13.32 PM.png

After starting and contributing I received lots of contributors on this journey. For first time my repo had got 9 stars and 23 forks!!🌟

Screenshot 2022-10-24 at 6.22.24 PM.png

This hacktoberfest made me level up my github and open source contribution skills. Also for first time I got the opportunity to become a maintainer in Open Source Contribution. πŸ₯³

Screenshot 2022-10-24 at 6.21.05 PM.png

Thanks to Kunal Kushwaha and Eddie Jaoude for Hacktoberfest awareness!!πŸ˜‡

If you are looking for beginner friendly issues for hacktoberfest, do checkout Healthy-Developer Open Source Repository. Thank You! πŸ”—

https://github.com/asdsyd/Healthy-developer

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Mohammed Asadullah Sayeed by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β